Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > Visual C++ MFC > Toolkit Pro
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 16bit desktop color + alpha icons??
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

16bit desktop color + alpha icons??

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Ark42 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 October 2003
Status: Offline
Points: 291
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ark42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 16bit desktop color + alpha icons??
    Posted: 21 June 2004 at 1:51pm

None of the functions fail, but none of the icons display, they are all blank, if the desktop color is set to 16bit.
It also spews out a lot of junk like:
Failed -- Memory exception thrown.Failed -- Memory exception thrown.Failed -- Memory exception thrown.Failed -- Memory exception thrown.Failed -- Memory exception thrown.Failed -- Memory exception thrown.Failed -- Memory exception thrown.Failed -- Memory exception thrown.First-chance exception in Test.exe (KERNEL32.DLL): 0xE06D7363: Microsoft C++ Exception.
First-chance exception in Test.exe (KERNEL32.DLL): 0xE06D7363: Microsoft C++ Exception.
First-chance exception in Test.exe (KERNEL32.DLL): 0xE06D7363: Microsoft C++ Exception.
First-chance exception in Test.exe (KERNEL32.DLL): 0xE06D7363: Microsoft C++ Exception.
First-chance exception in Test.exe (KERNEL32.DLL): 0xE06D7363: Microsoft C++ Exception.
First-chance exception in Test.exe (KERNEL32.DLL): 0xE06D7363: Microsoft C++ Exception.
First-chance exception in Test.exe (KERNEL32.DLL): 0xE06D7363: Microsoft C++ Exception.
First-chance exception in Test.exe (KERNEL32.DLL): 0xE06D7363: Microsoft C++ Exception.


Everything works fine in 32bit color mode though.


I tried XTPImageManager()->SetIcons(IDR_ALPHA_ICONS, nIDMenuBarI cons, _countof(nIDMenuBarIcons), CSize(16, 16), xtpImageNormal) and also:
CBitmap &bmAlphaIcons = *CBitmap::FromHandle((HBITMAP)::LoadImage(AfxGetApp()-> ;m_hInstance, MAKEINTRESOURCE(IDR_ALPHA_ICONS), IMAGE_BITMAP, 0, 0, LR_CREATEDIBSECTION));
XTPImageManager()->SetIcons(bmAlphaIcons, nIDMenuBarIcons, _countof(nIDMenuBarIcons), CSize(16, 16), xtpImageNormal, XTPImageManager()->IsAlphaIconsSupported ())

but both get the same results.

Back to Top
Ark42 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 October 2003
Status: Offline
Points: 291
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ark42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 June 2004 at 3:50pm

The problem is all the dcSrc.CreateCompatibleDC(NULL); scattered in CXTPImageManagerIcon since NULL is creating a DC compatible with the current screen mode.  My video card does not have a 24bit mode, but I suspect that even that would break alpha channel the same as 16bit mode.  You probably have to actually be in a 32bit graphics color mode or it will break.
Is this going to be fixed in the next version, it seems like a very major bug? Is there any date set yet for the next version? I have a program about ready to be released, but I can't yet since it won't work on anybody's system who is set to 16bit color.

Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 June 2004 at 10:54pm

It was fixed. Write me and I'll send you fixed files.

Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Ark42 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 October 2003
Status: Offline
Points: 291
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ark42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 June 2004 at 10:56pm
Oh good, thanks! :)
Back to Top
Ark42 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 October 2003
Status: Offline
Points: 291
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ark42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2004 at 1:20am

I got this update (pays to be on the yearly support contract, doesn't it ) - it works nice. Thanks again!

Back to Top
ICBM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 15 January 2004
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ICBM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 June 2004 at 3:27am
Originally posted by oleg oleg wrote:

It was fixed. Write me and I'll send you fixed files.

Hi

I'd like this fix too. How do I email you ? Or... email it to me at: ian-at-bevantech.com  (yes, I do have a yearly subscription !)

Back to Top
CSTL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 June 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CSTL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2004 at 3:58am

Hi,

I just purchased the software and I have several questions.

1. Does the alpha icons work on other operating systems besides WinXP?

2. Does the video mode have to be set at 32 bits for the alpha icons to work? 

3. Is there any documentation/samples on how to use CXTPImageManager?  It seems to be missing from the help files.

4.  Lastly, where can I get a fix for this?

Thanks.

 

 

Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2004 at 6:28am

1.  for all  (for win95 and nt4 you must deliver msimg32.dll)

2. in last release was problem with win2000+16bit mode. the fix will be included in next product release.

3. open XTPImageManager.h and see members :)

4. Please wait next version.

Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
ICBM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 15 January 2004
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ICBM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2004 at 6:01pm
Originally posted by CSTL CSTL wrote:

  It seems to be missing from the help files.

You must be new around here....

Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2004 at 10:57pm
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
CSTL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 June 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CSTL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 June 2004 at 3:00am
Originally posted by ICBM ICBM wrote:

Originally posted by CSTL CSTL wrote:

  It seems to be missing from the help files.

You must be new around here....

Yeah, I just started using this tookit.  So how long does it take to get an update patch around here?  Smile

Back to Top
kstowell View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 25 January 2003
Location: MIchigan, USA
Status: Offline
Points: 496
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kstowell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 July 2004 at 11:59am

Hello,

If you contact support, they will provide you with a pre-release version:
https://www.codejock.com/support/index.asp

The next release will be ready within the next few days.

Regards,
Codejock Support

Back to Top
ICBM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 15 January 2004
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ICBM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 July 2004 at 10:53pm
Originally posted by CSTL CSTL wrote:

Originally posted by ICBM ICBM wrote:

Originally posted by CSTL CSTL wrote:

  It seems to be missing from the help files.

You must be new around here....

Yeah, I just started using this tookit.  So how long does it take to get an update patch around here?  Smile

Email support is pretty good. Typical response time is 1-2 days for an initial enquiry. Forum support is patchy at best. Documentation is, beyond a shadow of a doubt, utterly appalling and really completely inexcusable. I've heard they are re-writing it, but I don't know when we'll see the fruits of those labours. The example code is good, but it really takes some getting into.

 

Back to Top
krulle View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 October 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote krulle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2004 at 8:19am

I still got the problem in 16-bit color depth and 32-bit bitmaps but I found a way to fix it. I hope it will help!

CBitmap bmps;

bmps.Attach(LoadImage(AfxGetResourceHandle(), MAKEINTRESOURCE(IDB_TOOLICONS), IMAGE_BITMAP, 0, 0, LR_DEFAULTSIZE | LR_CREATEDIBSECTION));

XTPImageManager()->SetIcons(bmps, GetCommandArray(), GetCommandArraySize(), CSize(16, 16), xtpImageNormal, TRUE);

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.