Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > Visual C++ MFC > Docking Pane
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Too Many Panes
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Too Many Panes

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Simon HB9DRV View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 July 2005
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 458
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon HB9DRV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Too Many Panes
    Posted: 06 August 2006 at 6:38am
Hi,

If I have too many panes docked to the bottom of my MDI application then there isn't enough room to draw all the text and I just lose text and / or panes.

Is there an intelligent solution built into the pane manager when takes care of this situation?
Simon HB9DRV
Back to Top
Simon HB9DRV View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 July 2005
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 458
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon HB9DRV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 August 2006 at 6:53am
I see what I'm after in the PaneActions sample - but can't work out how it is enabled :-(
Simon HB9DRV
Back to Top
Simon HB9DRV View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 July 2005
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 458
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon HB9DRV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 August 2006 at 7:18am
Bump - help please ?
Simon HB9DRV
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 August 2006 at 9:16am
Hi,
You can change layout from xtpTabLayoutSizeToFit to xtpTabLayoutAutoSize. it will add scroll buttons. 
 
See TabManager sample.
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Simon HB9DRV View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 July 2005
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 458
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon HB9DRV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 August 2006 at 9:34am
Originally posted by oleg oleg wrote:

Hi,
You can change layout from xtpTabLayoutSizeToFit to xtpTabLayoutAutoSize. it will add scroll buttons. 
 
See TabManager sample.

Hah - so simple, many thanks!
Simon HB9DRV
Back to Top
Simon HB9DRV View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 July 2005
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 458
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon HB9DRV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2006 at 8:51am
Originally posted by Simon HB9DRV Simon HB9DRV wrote:

Originally posted by oleg oleg wrote:

Hi,
You can change layout from xtpTabLayoutSizeToFit to xtpTabLayoutAutoSize. it will add scroll buttons. 
 
See TabManager sample.

Hah - so simple, many thanks!

Hi - having a brain problem here. Exactly how should I set this? I have tried

m_paneManager.GetPaintManager()->GetTabPaintManager()->SetLayout(xtpTabLayoutAutoSize);

without success. Must I call something afterwards?

Simon HB9DRV
Back to Top
Simon HB9DRV View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 July 2005
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 458
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon HB9DRV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2006 at 9:48am
False alarm - I see it's in the Tab Manager sample - will look further after I take the dog for a walk.
Simon HB9DRV
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2006 at 11:38am
Hi,
 
Yes, m_paneManager.GetPaintManager()->GetTabPaintManager()->SetLayout(xtpTabLayoutAutoSize);
must work... Just be sure you call it after you set theme for dockingpanes.
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Simon HB9DRV View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 July 2005
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 458
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon HB9DRV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2006 at 11:53am
Originally posted by oleg oleg wrote:

Hi,
 
Yes, m_paneManager.GetPaintManager()->GetTabPaintManager()->SetLayout(xtpTabLayoutAutoSize);
must work... Just be sure you call it after you set theme for dockingpanes.

Somehow the layout is being ignored :-(
Simon HB9DRV
Back to Top
Simon HB9DRV View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 July 2005
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 458
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon HB9DRV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2006 at 1:18pm
OK - I see why it works in the TabManager example, this is because you have just one group - you specify the neighbour when creating the panes, I don't.

So - how do I dynamically add my panes into the single group? I have maybe 12 different panes, created on demand, not st startup.

For the CreatePane function I need to specify a neighbour, currently I enter NULL.

Does this make sense? I have modified the TabManager example so that this doesn't work - simply by not supplying the neighbour argument and not using AttachPane().

How do I find the value to use as the neighbour?

---

Or - here's what I really want - I have all my panes which the user can hide as required.

Try modifying the TabManager code:

    CXTPDockingPane* pwndPane1 = m_paneManager.CreatePane(
        IDR_PANE1, CRect(0, 0,200, 120), xtpPaneDockLeft);
    CXTPDockingPane* pwndPane2 = m_paneManager.CreatePane(
        IDR_PANE2, CRect(0, 0,200, 120), xtpPaneDockLeft);
    CXTPDockingPane* pwndPane3 = m_paneManager.CreatePane(
        IDR_PANE3, CRect(0, 0,200, 120), xtpPaneDockLeft);
//    m_paneManager.AttachPane(pwndPane2, pwndPane1);
//    m_paneManager.AttachPane(pwndPane3, pwndPane1);

Hide these - then try getting the tabs Compressed - or getting any layout style applied :-(


Simon HB9DRV
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2006 at 2:16pm
Hi,
So you mean tabs in AutoHide panel not in Tabbed Containers?
 
Unfortunatelly in this case there is no method :(
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Simon HB9DRV View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 July 2005
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 458
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon HB9DRV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2006 at 3:03pm
Originally posted by oleg oleg wrote:

Hi,
So you mean tabs in AutoHide panel not in Tabbed Containers?
 
Unfortunatelly in this case there is no method :(

OK - guess I found something that's missing :-)
Simon HB9DRV
Back to Top
Dmitry View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 28 November 2004
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dmitry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 July 2008 at 1:45am
Hi,

Has there been any news on this subject?

We would also like to have tabs in AutoHide panel scrollable.

Regards,
Dmitry
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.203 seconds.