Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > ActiveX COM > Report Control
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - [QUESTION] FilterText support mix chars & numbers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

[QUESTION] FilterText support mix chars & numbers

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: [QUESTION] FilterText support mix chars & numbers
    Posted: 25 November 2009 at 12:41pm
Hi,
 
When assigning wndReportControl.FilterText = "Section 1" , should it return only items that contain exact match? I tried but it shows also items with "Section 3" or "Section 10" 
 
So my question is: Can RC handle filtering with mix of chars & numbers that are seperated with spaces?
 
 
Thanks
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
mdoubson View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 17 November 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 1705
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mdoubson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 November 2009 at 8:40pm
No - you will have all rows with items have pattern as part of caption (non case-sensitive) - just play with MFC Report Sample - menu Report Control - Filter window [https://forum.codejock.com/uploads/DemoVersion/ReportSampleStatic.rar]
Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2009 at 1:07pm
Hi Mark,
 
I thought so, because all items that contains "Section" are filtered.
 
Too bad, now I have to do my own filtering  It would be a nice option to have filtering options with .FilterText within the control itself.
 
Thanks for reply
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
mdoubson View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 17 November 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 1705
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mdoubson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2009 at 1:13pm
No - you suppose to see "Section 1" and "Section 10" but not "Section 3"
Back to Top
SuperMario View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 14 February 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 18057
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperMario Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2009 at 1:27pm
In your example it will find ANY combination of "Section" and "1"

So ALL of these would match:

Test Text Section Test Text 1 Test Text
Test Text 1 Test Text Section Test Text
Test Text Section Test Text A100 Test Text
Test Text 100000 Test Text Section Test Text

etc....
Back to Top
mdoubson View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 17 November 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 1705
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mdoubson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2009 at 1:33pm
using ReportSampleStatic I only tried strings "2009 1", "2009 - 10" and "2009-11" - report show proper different sets
Back to Top
mdoubson View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 17 November 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 1705
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mdoubson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2009 at 1:42pm
You right - this old algorith is not strict enough - I agree. Need to improve it or add special flag - WeakOrStrict filtering (Weak as now - partial pattern success show, Strict - only full pattern find success show)
Back to Top
mdoubson View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 17 November 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 1705
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mdoubson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2009 at 1:58pm
Back to Top
mdoubson View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 17 November 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 1705
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mdoubson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2009 at 5:00pm
Updated Activex supported setting - ReportControl.FilterSeparatorStrict = True (default = False - old weak ("OR") case), True - strict ("AND") case
Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2009 at 2:06am
Hi Mark,
 
I can't register ocx, it says: Thank you for using Beta...
 
So you improved filtering? I'm glad you did because if you filter (in my sample "Section 1" it will filter also all other items containing "1" like SuperMario mentioned and that's why it showed also "Section 3" because the "1" in other item (Date) contained a "1".
 
So I'm curious what you added to prevent this.
 
Thanks for checking this.
 
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
Fabian View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 22 November 2004
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fabian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2009 at 2:40am
Hi Aaron
 
I mentioned this in a support ticket some years ago. What I would need is simply a property like .FilterSeparator=, so I can set it e.g. to , Then if you filter for Section 1 will find only Section 1 or Section,1 will find all occurences of Section and 1
 
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.3

Platform: Windows 7 (32bit)

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 / SP6
Back to Top
mdoubson View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 17 November 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 1705
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mdoubson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2009 at 10:04am
Please try again. I updated beta expiration date. Default (weak mode) filter text separators are " " and "\t"; strict mode - only "\t";
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.