[SOLVED]An exception occurs when printing a report |
Post Reply |
Author | |
kaliand
Groupie Joined: 15 December 2010 Status: Offline Points: 19 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
Posted: 20 December 2011 at 10:35am |
Hi,
I bought 2 license of suite, version 15.0.2, and i'm having problems on a client machine (win xp SP3) when i try to print a report. The report controls works fine, no problems at all with the control, but when i try to print the report : With AxReportControl1.PrintOptions .Header.TextLeft = m_clsReport.ReportTitle .Header.Font.Size = 14 .Header.Font.Name = "Calibri" .Header.Font.Bold = True .RepeatFooterRows = True AxReportControl1.PrintPreview(True) End With the application crashes... any idea?? thank you very much kind regards. |
|
ABuenger
Newbie Joined: 02 February 2006 Status: Offline Points: 1075 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi,
printing has been hugely improved for 15.1.3, so please update to the current version. Andre |
|
Codejock support
|
|
kaliand
Groupie Joined: 15 December 2010 Status: Offline Points: 19 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Andre,
have i to pay again for the update? it should work in the version i paid... regards |
|
Willowmaster
Senior Member Joined: 12 July 2010 Location: Netherlands Status: Offline Points: 180 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
I have this too with the 15.2.1 controls. When I cancel the printer selection dialog my application crashes whenever I try to access the printview. Error message: Method 'PrintView' of object '_DPrintPreview' failed. This occures also in the Ribbonsample.
The printers installed are:
Generic Text only (Default)
Microsoft XPS Document Writer
Operation system:
Windows XP SP3
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.3.1
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 3 (on VMWare) Language: Visual Basic 6.0 |
|
SuperMario
Admin Group Joined: 14 February 2004 Status: Offline Points: 18057 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
I tried your code as far back as 15.0.1 in vb6 and .NET and don't see the crash. Can you upload a test project modifying one of our samples?
|
|
Willowmaster
Senior Member Joined: 12 July 2010 Location: Netherlands Status: Offline Points: 180 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Well. It happens when you use the ribbonsample. Just klik on print->print button. Second time you try to open the print backstage it crashes. At least with me. Wat do you want me to do? Strip the ribbonsample until only the print option is there? I can do that if you want me to.
Worst case scenario: I'll zip my virtual machine and send it over. :)
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.3.1
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 3 (on VMWare) Language: Visual Basic 6.0 |
|
kaliand
Groupie Joined: 15 December 2010 Status: Offline Points: 19 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi SuperMario,
The error occurs in all client's pc, not only in one, and works fine in the too machines which have installed the suite. error: "System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'stdole, Version = 7.0.3300.0, Culture = neutral, PublicKeyToken = b03f5f7f11d50a3a' or one of its dependencies. The system can not find the file specified. File name: 'stdole, Version = 7.0.3300.0, Culture = neutral, PublicKeyToken = b03f5f7f11d50a3a'" i paste you a screenshoots of the error This srceen shoot shows a form with the report control running without any problem on the client machine: the next one shows the error that occurs when the client try to print in preview mode. the code used is in the first post of this thread. it seems there is a problem with stdole file. any sugestion? regards! |
|
SuperMario
Admin Group Joined: 14 February 2004 Status: Offline Points: 18057 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Thanks Willow, we agree on the ribbon sample and that is getting addressed now. However we are still trying to reproduce the report print preview bug so we can fix it.
|
|
SuperMario
Admin Group Joined: 14 February 2004 Status: Offline Points: 18057 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
This is the ONLY code executed when that button is clicked? Does it happen on Win7?
With AxReportControl1.PrintOptions
.Header.TextLeft = m_clsReport.ReportTitle .Header.Font.Size = 14 .Header.Font.Name = "Calibri" .Header.Font.Bold = True .RepeatFooterRows = True AxReportControl1.PrintPreview(True) End With |
|
SuperMario
Admin Group Joined: 14 February 2004 Status: Offline Points: 18057 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Try this: 1. Right click on the stdole.dll in the reference section of project and select local copy true. By default it will be false. This will tell the application not to get it from the GAC. 2. Add the file to your application. In your setup application, go to View->Editor->File System. In the pane that opens up, right click and select Add->Assembly. Go to the following location:C:\Program Files\Microsoft.NET\Primary Interop Assemblies and select stdole.dll. Or you can try to manually install stdole.dll in the GAC. For example, running the following single line command from an elevated command prompt: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v7.0A\Bin\gacutil.exe" -i "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\microsoft shared\MSEnv\PublicAssemblies\stdole.dll"
|
|
kaliand
Groupie Joined: 15 December 2010 Status: Offline Points: 19 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi SuperMario,
i will prove its last recommendation. Answering to your first and second question : 1- Yes 2- the OS on the clients machine is win XP service pack 3 Thanks!! regards. |
|
SuperMario
Admin Group Joined: 14 February 2004 Status: Offline Points: 18057 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Is this solved?
|
|
kaliand
Groupie Joined: 15 December 2010 Status: Offline Points: 19 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi SuperMario,
Yes, this is solved. i used the first solution, adding the stdole assembly to the project. Now the print preview runs without problems. thanks for your attention. regards. |
|
ABuenger
Newbie Joined: 02 February 2006 Status: Offline Points: 1075 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi, the print preview issues have been fixed for the next release. Andre |
|
Codejock support
|
|
Willowmaster
Senior Member Joined: 12 July 2010 Location: Netherlands Status: Offline Points: 180 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
That's great! Thanks!
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.3.1
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 3 (on VMWare) Language: Visual Basic 6.0 |
|
Post Reply | |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |