Resetting panes layout when new panes are added |
Post Reply |
Author | |
dennisV
Senior Member Joined: 07 October 2004 Location: Australia Status: Offline Points: 242 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
Posted: 05 July 2009 at 2:37am |
Hello,
I'm not sure if there's a way to do this using CJ, and a quick search didn't turn up anything, so I'm going to ask this... I've got an application with docking panes. Now, I release a new version and I've added a new pane. However, I'm using CXTPDockingPaneLayout to load/save layouts. This means that the new pane does not appear, because (it seems) the Panes variable in the registry is set to a certain number of panes and new ones are not processed because of that. It would be good, if I could somehow check if that's actually the case or not and act accordingly (in this instance, I'd like to reset the layout). Something like a function: bool CheckIfPaneCountMatchesRegistry() Is there a way to accomplish this that I'm not seeing using CJ? The only other I can see is that my installer will have to clear out that registry key, but I don't think that's a proper solution. Thanks in advance for any insight... Dennis |
|
// W7 64 Ultimate SP1
// VS 2008 // CodeJock 16.2.3 (MFC) |
|
Smucker
Senior Member Joined: 02 February 2008 Status: Offline Points: 156 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
I keep the last run build number in my profile INI file (I don't use the registry because i loathe it), and my code checks this, and will reset docking layout (and sometimes command bars) to default if the UI has changed sufficiently in the new build.
Also, during betas, I occasionally reset everything - skin, theme, docking layout, command bar layout) so that testers can comment on the default configuration. |
|
Product: Xtreme Toolkit Pro version 13.2 (Unicode, static build)
Platform: Windows 200x/XP/Vista/Win7 (32/64 bit) Language: Visual C++ 9.0 (Studio 2008) |
|
dennisV
Senior Member Joined: 07 October 2004 Location: Australia Status: Offline Points: 242 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Thanks! I'm thinking about something similar. I'm using registry for my "normal" installations and an .ini file for portable ones (which are run from a USB drive). If CJ doesn't have anything built-in to do this (and I suspect they don't), I'll have to take your approach and do this myself (same as when I upgrade my database).
|
|
// W7 64 Ultimate SP1
// VS 2008 // CodeJock 16.2.3 (MFC) |
|
Post Reply | |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |