Docking a toolbar at specified position |
Post Reply |
Author | |
rdhd
Senior Member Joined: 13 August 2007 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 886 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
Posted: 01 May 2020 at 4:42pm |
We allow a single toolbar docked at the top of our app under the ribbon. We want the out-of-the-box position of the bar to be centered wrt the frame. I found the toolbar GetToolbarInfo (and Set...) APIs. Even though they are public, they are useless since the returned structure is not public. I'm not sure if will even help if I had access to the structure. I have found when I save the command bars, CJ writes an "xPos" and other data into the registry for the bar. So I thought perhaps I could "seed" the registry on the first run of the app and get the bar to move over. But, I have found that even if I manually edit the xPos value in the registry, the bar doesn't move. If I move it dynamically by dragging it and save the bar layout, that value changes. But, changing it manually has no effect. I have stepped thru the load bar layout code and see that toolbar info being seeded with it and even a SetWindowPos call being made with the point (and I see the xPos I set in the registry is used in that call). But when the bar displays, it stays where I last put it. So it seems the reg entry isn't really used. Except that if I delete the entire hive for that bar ("Application-Bar1" for my bar), it goes back to the default pos at the left of the dockbar/app frame. But, just delete the xPos and yPos instead and CJ still places it as the position I moved it to before saving the bar layout. Anyone have a suggestion of either how to influence the initial position (xPos is what I care about) or just where CJ is really getting the position from?
|
|
dbrookes
Groupie Joined: 30 August 2019 Location: Australia Status: Offline Points: 70 |
Post Options
Thanks(1)
|
Hi rdhd. We do a similar thing in our application by providing a default layout which provide a base for a user-specific layout. I think the MRUDockLeftPos key is used to offset the toolbar. An alternative would be to do it programmatically, which may be better. At least this way you could account for different frame widths and DPI scaling.
I guess you would need to find a way to not do this on every startup :)
|
|
rdhd
Senior Member Joined: 13 August 2007 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 886 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi dbrookes. With all the CJ stuff, I didn't even think about the MFC style docking calls. CJ uses the ScreenToClient API when docking so I used your code with a bit of modification. I got the client rect of the app and called ClientToScreen on it. I also then added the .left member of the result to the left and right calculations.
|
|
rdhd
Senior Member Joined: 13 August 2007 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 886 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
By the way, since I call SaveCommandBars on exit and LoadCommandbars on launch, I didn't have to do anything special to detect a "first" startup. I simply dock the bar and then call LoadCommandBars. So, if I start clean and set to the middle and move the bar, I can exit and restart and it resets the pos to where I moved it to before the last exit.
|
|
Post Reply | |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |