[BUG] Multi-Line Scroll Issue |
Post Reply |
Author | |
Xander75
Senior Member Joined: 26 April 2007 Status: Offline Points: 353 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
Posted: 21 April 2011 at 9:15am |
Hi,
I believe I have found a bug in the ReportControl when adding just one record that is multi-line. If the ReportControl is smaller in height than the multi-line text being added to the ReportControl the vertical scrollbars do not appear! See the attached screenshot & sample project. Am I missing something or is this indeed a bug? uploads/2960/MultiLine_Bug.rar |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) v15.3.1
Platform: Windows 7 64-bit (SP1) Professional Edition Languages: C#.Net using Visual Studio 2012 & Visual Basic 6.0 (SP6) |
|
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Looks like a bug - tried to find a workaround, but the only adding a dummy blank record record seems to do the trick (which is unacceptable). I recommend that you open a support ticket at https://support.codejock.com
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
|
Xander75
Senior Member Joined: 26 April 2007 Status: Offline Points: 353 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Thanks for the confirmation on this jpbro. I too tried to find a workaround, but as you said adding a blank record is unacceptable.
I opened a ticket as soon as this was posted, pointing CJ to this post. Hopefully it can be resolved for v15.0.3 |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) v15.3.1
Platform: Windows 7 64-bit (SP1) Professional Edition Languages: C#.Net using Visual Studio 2012 & Visual Basic 6.0 (SP6) |
|
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Andre has been doing a great job resolving ReportControl issues, and this is probably just an off-by-one index bug (or something similarly straight-forward to fix), so I would think it has a good chance of being corrected for 15.0.3 (fingers crossed!).
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
|
ABuenger
Newbie Joined: 02 February 2006 Status: Offline Points: 1075 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi,
I've reviewed yours and our code. The problem here is that the report control only scrolls entire rows. If you add a second record to your sample you'll notice that it scrolls to the second record and not to the lower part of your first record. I'll add a "smooth" scrolling mode. This mode needs to know the height of each row, so it is not suitable for large recordsets and virtual mode. Andre |
|
Codejock support
|
|
Xander75
Senior Member Joined: 26 April 2007 Status: Offline Points: 353 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Thanks for that Andre.
I did try adding a second blank record as a workaround for now. |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) v15.3.1
Platform: Windows 7 64-bit (SP1) Professional Edition Languages: C#.Net using Visual Studio 2012 & Visual Basic 6.0 (SP6) |
|
ABuenger
Newbie Joined: 02 February 2006 Status: Offline Points: 1075 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi,
I've added smooth scrolling to the main window and to "Report control > Control Test > Smooth Scroll Test". I think this should solve your problem. uploads/1755/ReportSample_18256_Multiline.zip Just set the scroll mode to xtpReportScrollModeSmooth. Andre |
|
Codejock support
|
|
Xander75
Senior Member Joined: 26 April 2007 Status: Offline Points: 353 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Andre,
I tried out this sample however I am a little worried with the fact that when I used the scroll wheel the reportcontrol would only scroll down and not back up! |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) v15.3.1
Platform: Windows 7 64-bit (SP1) Professional Edition Languages: C#.Net using Visual Studio 2012 & Visual Basic 6.0 (SP6) |
|
ABuenger
Newbie Joined: 02 February 2006 Status: Offline Points: 1075 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Thanks, fixed and sample updated:
uploads/1755/ReportSample_18256_Wheel.zip P.S.: I'm uploading the samples so you verify the feature works as expected and that all bugs are fixed before the release. |
|
Codejock support
|
|
Xander75
Senior Member Joined: 26 April 2007 Status: Offline Points: 353 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Andre,
Looks good to me, even better now the mousewheel scroll works again |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) v15.3.1
Platform: Windows 7 64-bit (SP1) Professional Edition Languages: C#.Net using Visual Studio 2012 & Visual Basic 6.0 (SP6) |
|
xcentric
Groupie Joined: 04 September 2008 Status: Offline Points: 41 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Found strange scrollbar behavior in multiline mode.
To reproduce - run the latest sample, check Report Control -> Multiline Sample and then try to scroll. |
|
ABuenger
Newbie Joined: 02 February 2006 Status: Offline Points: 1075 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi, the "strange" (delayed) behavior is the result of the slower performance of multiline rows. I'll try to improve it. Andre |
|
Codejock support
|
|
ABuenger
Newbie Joined: 02 February 2006 Status: Offline Points: 1075 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi, I've rewritten the scrolling code. Performance should be much better now. Let me know if you still see the strange/delayed behavior. uploads/1755/ReportSample_18256_Performance.zip The problem was that everytime you move the scrollbar Windows sends a WM_VSCROLL message to the report control. This message must be processed till the next WM_VSCROLL message is send, because otherwise the report control is not be redrawn. Andre |
|
Codejock support
|
|
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Scrolling is much faster for me - but now when using the keyboard to navigate up and down the report, the vertical scrollbar just bounces at the top of the screen (doesn't follow focus).
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
|
ABuenger
Newbie Joined: 02 February 2006 Status: Offline Points: 1075 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Yes, keyboard scrolling is not yet complete for smooth scrolling mode. I'll get this done tomorrow. Just wanted to get the update out. |
|
Codejock support
|
|
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
No problem, I just wanted to make sure that you were aware of the issue. Thanks for you work on this!
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
|
Post Reply | |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |