Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > ActiveX COM > Calendar
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

custom datasource events

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RichardN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: custom datasource events
    Posted: 17 May 2006 at 11:24am
Hi, I'm just getting started with Xtreme Calendar. I was wondering how the calendar control expects the data to be returned from the custom datasource events. For instance when implementing the DoReadEvent method. I would expect to write something like this (pseudocode):

Private Sub CalendarControl1_DoReadEvent(ByVal EventID As Long, pEvent As XtremeCalendarControl.CalendarEvent)

read recordset for event with id EventID
dim objCalendarEvent as calendarevent
Set objCalendarEvent = new calendarevent
set objcalendarevent properties
end properties

set pEvent = objCalendarevent

End Sub

instead, the only way to create a calendarevent object seems to be by referencing the dataprovider object in the calendar control itself.
If this is the case intentionally, how should I go about creating the object? should I use the createeventex method and presumably thereby add it to the calendar's collection of events? If so, why include pEvent as an argument?

Are there any examples of these custom events already being implemented anywhere?

Thanks,
Richard.

sserge View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sserge Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2006 at 3:45pm
Hi Richard,

You're looking in a correct way. Just use DataProvider.CreateEventEx(EventID) method to create event object
instead of using new operator. This is implemented in such way to manage internal references between Event object and data provider which owns this event.

The pseudo code is: