MarkupLabel as a container |
Post Reply |
Author | |
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
Posted: 06 March 2010 at 4:33pm |
It would be very useful if the MarkupLabel was a Container control (like a PictureBox, Frame, etc..). This would allow us to put other ActiveX controls inside and easily position them relative to markup
elements. If the ActiveX control size would overflow the visible area of the MarkupLabel then the ActiveX controls would be automatically clipped. This could open up some nice doors while we wait for native Markup edit controls.
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
|
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Currently testing the new MarkupWindowContainer object! So far so good, and many many thanks to Oleg for working on this feature!
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
|
Aaron
Senior Member Joined: 29 January 2008 Status: Offline Points: 2192 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Jason,
Does this mean I think it means Position images and resizing will scale/reposition the images? YES ?!?!....
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 Zero replies is not an option.... |
|
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
I'm not sure if this feature would help with that - I still think we need to be able to get the actual Left, Top, Right/Width and Bottom/Left position of each object (relative to the MarkupLabel viewport) in order to easily accomplish this...I'm pretty busy until the end of this week, but I will see if I can get it working again.
Jason |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
|
davbrat
Groupie Joined: 30 September 2009 Location: California Status: Offline Points: 59 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Can it be placed inside a DockingPane and does it handle resizing within the pane correctly?
Thanks, Dave |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 18.4.0 Platform: Windows XP SP2+ & Windows 7 (32bit & 64Bit)
Windows 8/8.1/10 Language: Clarion 5.0/5.5/6.3/7.3/8/9/9.1/10 |
|
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Aaron - I just realized why you thought this might work for the
images problem - I posted my BETA note to the wrong thread :(
I meant to post it here. |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
|
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
davbrat - Sorry, I'm not sure, I don't use the docking pane. Maybe someone else has tried it? Or if you give it a try, can you post the results back here?
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
|
Aaron
Senior Member Joined: 29 January 2008 Status: Offline Points: 2192 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi,
Jason: What do you mean by your previous reply?
@davbrat: You can always put Markup control inside a picturebox (This is what I ALWAYS do with all controls because of "sometimes it doesn't work problem") and use picturebox resize event to resize Markup control and it works OK
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 Zero replies is not an option.... |
|
davbrat
Groupie Joined: 30 September 2009 Location: California Status: Offline Points: 59 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hello guys,
@Aaron Same controls... different language. Unfortunately the Clarion Image control does not work the same way as the VB picture control. I can't stuff the Markup object into it. The other CJ controls(except the Browser control) seem to "re-size" in a docking pane okay, while the Markup stays in a fixed size and location and draws on top of the Docking pane area beneath it. @Aaron & Jason: I've been toying with Markup objects and I get valid handles but I never see anything on the screen, I don't see a "refresh" or "display" method any ideas on what I'm missing or do you have a simple <TextBlock> example you could post? Thanks, Dave |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 18.4.0 Platform: Windows XP SP2+ & Windows 7 (32bit & 64Bit)
Windows 8/8.1/10 Language: Clarion 5.0/5.5/6.3/7.3/8/9/9.1/10 |
|
Aaron
Senior Member Joined: 29 January 2008 Status: Offline Points: 2192 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi,
Copied one of (working) MarkUp string from ReportControl subforum:
<TextBlock>[CodeToolBox] <Run Foreground='Red'> Newsletter</Run> (10 May 2004)</TextBlock>
should display: [CodeToolBox] Newsletter (10 May 2004)
About dockingpanes: As I said before, sometimes you can't just attach 'hwnd' of a control to a pane and that's why I always use a picturebox. Does Clarion have somekind of container where you can put a control into? In VB we have a PictureBox and GroupBox, maybe Clarion has same kind of controls...
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 Zero replies is not an option.... |
|
davbrat
Groupie Joined: 30 September 2009 Location: California Status: Offline Points: 59 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Aaron, Clarion does have a Group Control and a Region Control, I have tried using both without success. I have been able to use a Clarion Windowed Procedure where you pass the Handle of the Window to the docking pane and it does allow the Markuplabel to re-size within the pane but the drawback is that the SyntaxEditor inside another docking pane generates a GPF when you click within the control about 60% of the time. I'm still working on it.<VBG> As for the <TextBlock> sample. Thanks, but I have the MarkupLabel working properly using the caption="XAML code" property. ?MarkupLabel{'Caption'} = '<Page xmlns='http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation' !snipped XAML string... goes on and on... I've been using it in Popups/ToolTips and standard Markup Labels for a while without any problems. What I can't get to work in Clarion is the MarkUp Objects... Sample... Context_ = ?CJMARKUPLABEL{'MarkupContext'} TextBlock1_ = ?CJMARKUPLABEL{ Context_ & '.CreateObject("TextBlock")'} ?CJMARKUPLABEL{TextBlock1_ & '.Text'} = 'Test NUMBER 1' Displays nothing Thanks, Dave BTW, how do you insert a image in your reply message? The UI seems a bit weird in the "Insert Image" button/form and nothing ever shows up in the preview. |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 18.4.0 Platform: Windows XP SP2+ & Windows 7 (32bit & 64Bit)
Windows 8/8.1/10 Language: Clarion 5.0/5.5/6.3/7.3/8/9/9.1/10 |
|
Aaron
Senior Member Joined: 29 January 2008 Status: Offline Points: 2192 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Dave,
This is most simple sample
Dim Context As MarkupContext
Dim TextBlock1 As MarkupTextBlock Set Context = MarkupLabel1.MarkupContext
Set TextBlock1 = Context.CreateObject("TextBlock") TextBlock1.Text = "Test" Set MarkupLabel1.MarkupUIElement = TextBlock1 |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 Zero replies is not an option.... |
|
Aaron
Senior Member Joined: 29 January 2008 Status: Offline Points: 2192 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Dave,
What do you mean?
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 Zero replies is not an option.... |
|
davbrat
Groupie Joined: 30 September 2009 Location: California Status: Offline Points: 59 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
I wanted to include a screen shot inside my reply and no matter what I tried to do when clicking the "Insert Image" button no pictures were added/embedded to my reply. BTW, your sample/snippet did the trick... I did not have the MarkupUIElement line formatted correctly (Clarion Syntax) and now I'm trying to get the StackPanel objects to work. Thanks, Dave |
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 18.4.0 Platform: Windows XP SP2+ & Windows 7 (32bit & 64Bit)
Windows 8/8.1/10 Language: Clarion 5.0/5.5/6.3/7.3/8/9/9.1/10 |
|
Post Reply | |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |