Markup & Lists - Next release |
Post Reply |
Author | ||
Boris
Senior Member Joined: 21 June 2007 Location: United Kingdom Status: Offline Points: 179 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
Posted: 07 August 2009 at 5:27am |
|
Hi,
I use markup in listboxes and combos. This allows me to use icons and formatting in my list. However, if I refer to the text of a list item I get back the markup. I have created a piece of code that strips out certain known elements of the XAML but it occurred to me that an easier way would be if a property could be added that would allow us to get back the textual value of a markup list. So if markup is enabled instead of doing :
I understand that there is a release due ~mid September. Any chance that this could be implemented.
Regards to all,
|
||
Boris
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.4.0 16.3.1 Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 VS 2005-2008-2010-2013 |
||
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
I agree that something like this would be very useful for ListBoxes and ComboBoxes...This would also allow us to use Markup for editable Combos as well (when you edit you are typing plain text, and when you leave focus the markup entry would be drawn). Essentially, you would have 2 parallel lists - 1 plain text and 1 markup. The plain text list would be used for sorting, autocomplete, keyboard navigation, etc... and the Markup list would be used for display purposes.
|
||
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
||
Boris
Senior Member Joined: 21 June 2007 Location: United Kingdom Status: Offline Points: 179 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi jpbro.
Good points . The sorting issue in particular is a strong reason to do this.
CJ any comments?
Regards
|
||
Boris
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.4.0 16.3.1 Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 VS 2005-2008-2010-2013 |
||
tobi
Senior Member Joined: 09 September 2004 Location: Germany Status: Offline Points: 451 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
I totally agree !
I also would need this feature very urgent !!! @CodeJock: Please try to implement it in the next release ... By the way: How does this work with ReportControl ? (How) Does Filtering work if I use XAML formatted rows ? |
||
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
With the ReportControl you can set the Value property (plain text) and the Caption property (to Markup text). AFAIK filtering, sorting, etc... occurs on the Value property.
|
||
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
||
Boris
Senior Member Joined: 21 June 2007 Location: United Kingdom Status: Offline Points: 179 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi
Valid point. However, when speed and memory is an issue (many records to draw) I would prefer to see a method of returning the simple text rather than adding more data to the control. It is however a good work-around.
Regards,
|
||
Boris
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.4.0 16.3.1 Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 VS 2005-2008-2010-2013 |
||
tobi
Senior Member Joined: 09 September 2004 Location: Germany Status: Offline Points: 451 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Can please someone from CJ let me know if this will be in the next release ?
|
||
kstowell
Admin Group Joined: 25 January 2003 Location: MIchigan, USA Status: Offline Points: 496 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi,
We are looking into your request, I am not sure we guarantee that it will make it into the next release however.
Regards,
|
||
Kirk Stowell, President and CEO
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS< |
||
Boris
Senior Member Joined: 21 June 2007 Location: United Kingdom Status: Offline Points: 179 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi Kirk,
Does that mean you have a release slated for distribution soon then?
Regards
|
||
Boris
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.4.0 16.3.1 Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 VS 2005-2008-2010-2013 |
||
Oleg
Admin Group Joined: 21 May 2003 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 11234 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi,
You can try last beta - ItemData for ComboBox and ListBox now Variant type - so you can store strings too.
|
||
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS |
||
tobi
Senior Member Joined: 09 September 2004 Location: Germany Status: Offline Points: 451 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi Oleg,
but this does not help me sorting the XAML formatted entries, right ? |
||
Oleg
Admin Group Joined: 21 May 2003 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 11234 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi, yes. |
||
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS |
||
tobi
Senior Member Joined: 09 September 2004 Location: Germany Status: Offline Points: 451 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Please try to implement something so that it is possible !
Would be great improvement for my application ... |
||
jpbro
Senior Member Joined: 12 January 2007 Status: Offline Points: 1355 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
I thought of a workaround that unfortunately didn't work, but it should be able to work with a minor change from Codejock and may be an acceptable (hopefully temporary) compromise.
If you create a function that markups your plain text for use with the ListBox, you could prepend your visible markup with invisible plain text wrapped in a StackPanel. Since the left portion of markup for each item will be the same, the ListBox should sort correctly. THE PROBLEM: The CodeJock listbox ignores the Sorted property when EnableMarkup = True. If the control honoured the Sorted =TRUE property, then this workaround would work. For example, if you have the following markup now:
If Sorting worked, the numbers would appear in this order: 3 1 2 You could have it sort more logically by altering the markup as follows:
The order would now appear as 1 2 3, or at least it would if the CJ control honoured the Sorted property with markup enabled. Now, perhaps the question will be "Why not sort your data before it gets marked up and put into the ListBox?" This may be a valid question, but let's assume there is a good reason for not doing this...Is it an easy solution to get the CJ ListBox/ComboBox to honour the Sorted proeprty when EnableMarkup = TRUE? |
||
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3 Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 |
||
tobi
Senior Member Joined: 09 September 2004 Location: Germany Status: Offline Points: 451 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi Oleg,
is there any possible workaround to sort XAML formatted items in the Listbox in Release 13.2 ? Thanks |
||
tobi
Senior Member Joined: 09 September 2004 Location: Germany Status: Offline Points: 451 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
@OLEG: Can you please implement a solution or workaround in v13.2.1 ?
It's really very very important for me !!! Thanks a lot |
||
Oleg
Admin Group Joined: 21 May 2003 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 11234 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi,
Thanks for patient. MarkupList property finally added for 13.2.1.
|
||
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS |
||
tobi
Senior Member Joined: 09 September 2004 Location: Germany Status: Offline Points: 451 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi Oleg,
thank you very much ! With this feature will it also be possible to sort markup styles entries ? |
||
tobi
Senior Member Joined: 09 September 2004 Location: Germany Status: Offline Points: 451 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Can please someone from CJ answer this question ?
Btw. this new property is not included in the documentation ... |
||
Oleg
Admin Group Joined: 21 May 2003 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 11234 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi,
yes, you can sort Markup entries, or set some text + markup for list items and sort using its text value.
|
||
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS |
||
Post Reply | |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |