SOLVED: Locate a row |
Post Reply |
Author | |
ElvisM
Senior Member Joined: 12 October 2006 Location: Venezuela Status: Offline Points: 129 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
Posted: 16 October 2007 at 3:22pm |
Hi, there is a way to locate a row in the reporcontrol by a column value without iterate all the rows of it?
Excuseme my english, is so bad.
Elvis
|
|
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 17.2
Platform: Windows 10 64bits Language: Visual Basic 2015 |
|
sserge
Moderator Group Joined: 01 December 2004 Status: Offline Points: 1297 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Some thing like this should help:
Also search forum, there were already similar questions. -- WBR, Serge |
|
ElvisM
Senior Member Joined: 12 October 2006 Location: Venezuela Status: Offline Points: 129 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
I said a way that I do not to iterate all the rows to find the row. There is not a method that I can find the desired row only by a column value? (without iterate all the reportcontrol's records)
PD: Excuseme my english
|
|
sserge
Moderator Group Joined: 01 December 2004 Status: Offline Points: 1297 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
No.
|
|
JKDev
Groupie Joined: 27 September 2007 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 59 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hmm, it would be great if you could provide a function to quickly search all of the records .tag property for a match. such as
Report.Records.FindTag "172" etc.
It is essential to be able to locate the record that is associated with a particular database row based on a primary key.
Iterating through all of the records as suggested is time consuming. Perhaps you could add a .Key property for the Record similar to a ListView.ListItem.Key? That way we could retrieve the correct row with code like this
msgID = "M" + ltrim$(str$(rs("msgID")))
set rec = Report.Records.Item(msgID)
|
|
johnlewe
Newbie Joined: 26 October 2007 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 5 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
I agree. Looping through EVERY row is just not practical. The record object needs a key property. Likewise the column object needs a key. Every time I need to refer to a RecordItem, I need to remember the numerical index value of the column. In the ListView control you can refer to the RecordItem using the NAME/KEY of the column. It makes the code ALOT more readable and easy to maintain. What I have done to workaround this limitation is to store the name of the column in the .tag property of the column and then I have to call a function that loops through every column in the control until it finds that tag and then returns the numerical index of the column.
Is there a specific reason by design why the ReportControl does not have "key" objects? Or is this coming in a future revision? We replaced our listview control with the Codejock ReportControl to get past the limitations of the listview control, but in this case, those limitations are being replaced with Codejock ReportControl limitations which the listview control did not have. Make us all very happy and add this basic feature that the listview control has...please... |
|
John Lewe
Orlando, FL |
|
JKDev
Groupie Joined: 27 September 2007 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 59 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
yup, the more i use it the more i see thus as an absolute must have... |
|
Post Reply | |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |