Snap panes to screen edges |
Post Reply |
Author | ||
akur
Senior Member Joined: 16 May 2006 Status: Offline Points: 139 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
Posted: 26 June 2006 at 9:33am |
|
Hello,
is there any way to achieve a snapping effect of docking panes so that when a pane is moved by the user, then it will automatically snap to the closest edge of the screen? Or can it be made only by overriding OnMoving() of the tabbed container? Thanks for your help, in advance! |
||
Oleg
Admin Group Joined: 21 May 2003 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 11234 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi,
It is not built-in supported, but you always can override CXTPDockinPaneTabContainer and message, etc... :) |
||
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS |
||
akur
Senior Member Joined: 16 May 2006 Status: Offline Points: 139 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Thanks, my snapping is finished now. However it's not the CXTPDockinPaneTabContainer but CXTPDockingPaneContext what must be changed a little bit.
|
||
Oleg
Admin Group Joined: 21 May 2003 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 11234 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi,
In 10.3 it will be supported also....
|
||
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS |
||
Simon HB9DRV
Senior Member Joined: 07 July 2005 Location: Switzerland Status: Offline Points: 458 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi - just saw this thread. Will you be snapping to the edges of the screen (monitor) instead of the main frame? This would be a rather fantastic feature. |
||
Simon HB9DRV
|
||
akur
Senior Member Joined: 16 May 2006 Status: Offline Points: 139 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Yes, I needed snapping to edges of the screen, and to edges of the MDI Client area, too. But I really mean snapping and not docking here. That is, to make a floating pane "jump" (by adjusting its position) to the edges, keeping the pane still undocked. Something like what Photoshop does with its non-modal dialogs.
If it'll be part of 10.3, it's great. At what time horizon can we await this feature approximately? |
||
Simon HB9DRV
Senior Member Joined: 07 July 2005 Location: Switzerland Status: Offline Points: 458 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Wow! [Warning - hope this makes sense] Many of my users have dual screens, so I could run my MDI app on screen 1 and snap my many dialogs to screen 2? I would dearly like to be able to drag a MDI view from the MDI app on screen 1 so that it snaps / docks to screen 2. If Codejock and jockettes achieve this then - Wow! Standard Windows MDI support for dual monitor systems isn't great. I have essentially two main views, the ability to press a button, have the app go full size across both monitors and put a view on each monitor is very desirable. |
||
Simon HB9DRV
|
||
Simon HB9DRV
Senior Member Joined: 07 July 2005 Location: Switzerland Status: Offline Points: 458 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
I didn't see this in the 10.3 release notes - can anyone point me in the right direction?
|
||
Simon HB9DRV
|
||
Oleg
Admin Group Joined: 21 May 2003 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 11234 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
SetStickyFloatingFrames method.
|
||
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS |
||
Simon HB9DRV
Senior Member Joined: 07 July 2005 Location: Switzerland Status: Offline Points: 458 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
OK - I'll see if I can change a sample (any suggestions?), if not I'll be back! |
||
Simon HB9DRV
|
||
Simon HB9DRV
Senior Member Joined: 07 July 2005 Location: Switzerland Status: Offline Points: 458 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Sorry - I'm too stupid to understand. In the ActivePaneView sample I changed CMainFrame but don't see any change in the program // Initialize the docking pane manager and set the // initial them for the docking panes. Do this only after all // control bars objects have been created and docked. m_paneManager.InstallDockingPanes(this); // Set Office 2003 Theme m_paneManager.SetTheme(xtpPaneThemeOffice); m_paneManager.SetStickyFloatingFrames(TRUE); |
||
Simon HB9DRV
|
||
Oleg
Admin Group Joined: 21 May 2003 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 11234 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hello,
Try float pane and move it near screen edges/another floating frame.
|
||
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS |
||
Simon HB9DRV
Senior Member Joined: 07 July 2005 Location: Switzerland Status: Offline Points: 458 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
OK, I modified the DialogPanes sample and see how floating panes stick together. I don't see any stickyness to the screen (monitor) edges.
Having stuck three panes together it would be nice to be able to drag them three around the screen in one 'lump' somehow. |
||
Simon HB9DRV
|
||
Simon HB9DRV
Senior Member Joined: 07 July 2005 Location: Switzerland Status: Offline Points: 458 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
OK - I see the screen edge stickyness. It would be nice to have the pane snap to the screen and use all available width and/or height as appropriate.
So I could drag a view from my MDI app on screen 1 and have the view go full screen on screen 2. And drag my dialog panes from my MDI app and have the snap - rally snap - to screen 2. that would be GREAT !!! |
||
Simon HB9DRV
|
||
akur
Senior Member Joined: 16 May 2006 Status: Offline Points: 139 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hello Oleg,
I'm really glad you've implemented one of our requests. I'd like to have two questions about this pretty new feature, to see if we ought to upgrade from 10.1 to 10.3:
|
||
Simon HB9DRV
Senior Member Joined: 07 July 2005 Location: Switzerland Status: Offline Points: 458 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
|
Hi,
Having modified the ActivePaneView sample, my answer to both questions is yes. |
||
Simon HB9DRV
|
||
Post Reply | |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |