Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > ActiveX COM > Report Control
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - "Sticky" (multiple) selection
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

"Sticky" (multiple) selection

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
MNovaro View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 71
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MNovaro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: "Sticky" (multiple) selection
    Posted: 01 December 2008 at 8:54am
Hello, everybody

I would like to use a Report Control with a "Sticky" selection, that is: selecting multiple items without having to press CTRL (or Shift).
In other words: I would like to select a row on click event if it is not selected, and unselect it if it is selected.

Is this possible??

Thanks in advance for any help
Regards
Marco
Back to Top
jpbro View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 January 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 1354
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jpbro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 December 2008 at 9:32am
Set the MultiSelectMode property to True.
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6

Back to Top
MNovaro View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 71
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MNovaro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 December 2008 at 3:02am
I guess I have no "MultiSelectMode", since I'm still using the 11.2.1 release....
Is there a way to "simulate" this with code?

Thanks again
Marco
Back to Top
jpbro View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 January 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 1354
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jpbro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 December 2008 at 11:28am
You could do this:


Private Sub ReportControl1_FocusChanging(ByVal NewRow As XtremeReportControl.IReportRow, ByVal NewColumn As XtremeReportControl.IReportColumn, ByVal NewItem As XtremeReportControl.IReportRecordItem, Cancel As Boolean)
   Cancel = True
   NewRow.Selected = Not NewRow.Selected
End Sub


The only problem being that the focus (dotted rectangle) doesn't move to the most recently clicked row. Unfortunately, all of my attempts to move the focus also reset the selection to a single item. This may or may not be a problem for you though.

Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6

Back to Top
jpbro View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 January 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 1354
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jpbro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 December 2008 at 12:00pm
I just noticed another problem with the above approach - If you click the currently focused row when there are multiple rows selected, the selection will be reset to the just the single focused row. This is because the FocusChanging event doesn't fire (since the focus isn't changing) and we can't cancel the default behaviour. Unfortunately, there is no corresponding SelectionChanging event that would allow us to cancel any selection change. I'll see if I can figure out a workaround.
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6

Back to Top
MNovaro View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 71
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MNovaro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 December 2008 at 12:06pm
Hello, jbpro

thanks for your help: I can't test your solution in here, but I will do asap and I'll let you know....
Back to Top
MNovaro View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 71
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MNovaro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 December 2008 at 4:11am
Ehm... I neither have a "FocusChanging" event in my version...
Back to Top
jpbro View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 January 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 1354
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jpbro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 December 2008 at 7:59pm
Hi MNovaro,

Sorry, I didn't know that event wasn't available in 11.2.1. Also, sorry for taking a while to get back, I've been busy with work and a new baby girl!

Anyway, I think I have found a solution for you. Assuming you have the MouseDown and MouseUp events, this should work:


Option Explicit

Private mo_SelectedRows As Collection

Private Sub Form_Load()
   ' Save the starting selection (usually the first row only).
   ' If your code selects other rows at startup programmatically,
   ' then call RememberSelection after you have made the selection in code
  
   RememberSelection   ' Call this after you have populated your ReportControl and if you change the selection programmatically
End Sub

Private Sub ReportControl1_MouseDown(Button As Integer, Shift As Integer, x As Long, y As Long)
   Dim lo_Hit As ReportHitTestInfo
   Dim lo_Row As ReportRow
  
   ' Determine if the mouse is over a selectable row
   Set lo_Hit = Me.ReportControl1.HitTest(x, y)
   If Not lo_Hit Is Nothing Then
      If Not lo_Hit.Row Is Nothing Then
         ' The mouse is over a selectable row
        
         ' Restore the previous selection since the MouseDown will
         ' reset the selection to a single (hovered over) item
         RestoreSelection
     
         ' Check to see if the current row was selected last time
         ' we saved the selection. If it was selected, then we
         ' should de-select it this click
         For Each lo_Row In mo_SelectedRows
            If lo_Row Is lo_Hit.Row Then
               ' Row was previously selected, so de-select it
               lo_Hit.Row.Selected = False
               Exit For
            End If
         Next lo_Row
        
         ' Save the current selection state
         RememberSelection
      End If
   End If
End Sub

Private Sub ReportControl1_MouseUp(Button As Integer, Shift As Integer, x As Long, y As Long)
   ' Mouse-up will reset the selection, so we should restore our previous selection if required
  
   Dim lo_Hit As ReportHitTestInfo
  
   ' Determine if mouse is over a selectable row
   Set lo_Hit = Me.ReportControl1.HitTest(x, y)
   If Not lo_Hit Is Nothing Then
      If Not lo_Hit.Row Is Nothing Then
         ' We are over a row
         ' Remove the currently selected item
         Me.ReportControl1.SelectedRows.DeleteAll
        
         ' Restore the saved selection from MouseDown
         RestoreSelection
      End If
   End If
End Sub

Private Sub RememberSelection()
   ' Save the current state of selected rows
   Dim lo_Row As ReportRow
  
   Set mo_SelectedRows = New Collection
   For Each lo_Row In Me.ReportControl1.SelectedRows
      mo_SelectedRows.Add lo_Row
   Next lo_Row
End Sub

Private Sub RestoreSelection()
   ' Restore the selection state saved in RememberSelection()
   Dim lo_Row As ReportRow
  
   For Each lo_Row In mo_SelectedRows
      lo_Row.Selected = True
   Next lo_Row
End Sub



If you don't have these events, then the best I can suggest is to buy the upgrade ;)


Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6

Back to Top
MNovaro View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 71
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MNovaro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 December 2008 at 5:07am
Wow!!

Thanks, jbpro: this actually works as I expected!!

Thank you really very much for the help
Marco
Back to Top
jpbro View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 January 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 1354
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jpbro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 December 2008 at 10:30am
Glad to help, Marco!
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.137 seconds.