Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > ActiveX COM > Docking Pane
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Focus control
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Focus control

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
ElvisM View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 October 2006
Location: Venezuela
Status: Offline
Points: 129
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ElvisM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Focus control
    Posted: 05 August 2008 at 1:00am
Hi...
 
I've been locking for any similar problem in the codejock's knowledgment database, but I dont' find anything.
 
I'm working with dockingpane. I have 3 forms docked in the main form. How I can to "pass the focus" between the docked forms (panes)?. I'm clicking the form's title, but it works sometimes...
 
There is a way to set the focus to a specific form?
 
Regards,
Elvis
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 17.2
Platform: Windows 10 64bits
Language: Visual Basic 2015
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 August 2008 at 1:39am
Hi,
Call pane.Select() it will move focus to docked form.
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
ElvisM View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 October 2006
Location: Venezuela
Status: Offline
Points: 129
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ElvisM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 August 2008 at 12:28pm
Hi Oleg, thanks for your answer.
I did this change, but the problem persists.
The pane take the focus, I can see the first fields focused, but when I fire the tab key, the cursor doesn't change. It stays in the first field...
 
I'm using this code:
...
DP.Panes(1).Select     'DP is the Docking Pane
FParam.SetFocus        'FParam is the Form variable
...
 
If I comment the second line (FParam...) the result is the same...
 
I'm missing something??
 
Regards,
Elvis
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 17.2
Platform: Windows 10 64bits
Language: Visual Basic 2015
Back to Top
ElvisM View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 October 2006
Location: Venezuela
Status: Offline
Points: 129
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ElvisM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 August 2008 at 9:18am
Hi Oleg, thanks for your answer.
The problem with the focus was solved using picture instead forms.
 
Regards,
Elvis
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 17.2
Platform: Windows 10 64bits
Language: Visual Basic 2015
Back to Top
ElvisM View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 October 2006
Location: Venezuela
Status: Offline
Points: 129
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ElvisM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 August 2008 at 2:51pm
Hi Oleg.
The DP focus problem has been solved, but a new problem appears...
 
When I float some pane (picturebox) I can use any main form's control (toolbar, other pane, etc). I need to close or dock the floated pane in order to work with my main form's control. It is working like the modal form.
 
Now, what can I do to solve this issue?
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 17.2
Platform: Windows 10 64bits
Language: Visual Basic 2015
Back to Top
ElvisM View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 October 2006
Location: Venezuela
Status: Offline
Points: 129
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ElvisM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 August 2008 at 10:34pm
There's a solution for this issue?
Maybe in the next release?
 
Please, HELP!
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 17.2
Platform: Windows 10 64bits
Language: Visual Basic 2015
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 August 2008 at 2:27am
Hello,
 
Yes, TabStop of picturebox and controls inside it have to be set to False :-( to allow float pane.
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Baldur View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 22 November 2006
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 244
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldur Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 August 2008 at 8:01am
The main problem is from VB !
VB holds own Focus in Screen.ActiveForm and Screen.ActiveControl.
The TAB-Key is processed first from a form to change a focus.
So if you use a form, the tab works only inside the form if the form is activated by MyPane.Select().
 
Also, if a form contains a control like ComboBox or PropertyGrid, the dropdown can loose the focus of the form.
DockingPane fire also an deativated-event. But this is by design of VB.
Back to Top
Jean View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 December 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jean Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 September 2008 at 7:49am
Old thread, same problem:
http://forum.codejock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=10148

And here a new thread:
http://forum.codejock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=11854

And still I didn't found the perfect solution...

Conslusion as I understand:
Forms in panes: No problem with floting panes, but problem with tab.
PictureBox/UserControl in panes: No tab problem, but lock problem with floting panes.
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) Version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) German - SP 2
Language: VB6 / C# 4.0
Back to Top
ScottW View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 August 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 82
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ScottW Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 November 2008 at 3:30pm
So what are people doing about these focus issues? I see the problems here, and I am having them now too, but no really good clear solution. I have an MDI Form with several docking panes which contain various things on forms right now. They work fine, but when a child window is opened and focus goes to the child window, the arrow keys don't work and it seems focus returns to some random place on one of the docking panels. Clicking all around a lot sometimes gets it working again for a while. This is not acceptable though. I see that using pictureboxes instead of forms helps some, but is not a perfect solution either. I need panes that can float. What seems to work best for those that have had to deal with this before?
Back to Top
LeeHayton View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 November 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 102
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LeeHayton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 January 2009 at 5:26am
I think I have found a work around for FORMS!
 
After trying all sorts of things I have discovered that if I have another Codejock control on Form 1 then I can click between textboxes on form 1 and Form 2 quite happily.  So what I have done is replace the textboxes on the Form with the DockingPane control on it (Form 1) with Codejock's own textbox control (FlatEdit) and the problem goes away.
 
Not sure why this works - but it does. :-)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.171 seconds.