Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > Visual C++ MFC > Skin Framework
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin Framework crashing

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote redserpent7 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Skin Framework crashing
    Posted: 04 April 2012 at 9:27am
Hi

I am a developer at Genie9. recently we have release GenieTimeline 2012 which use CodeJock's SkinFramework version (15.2.1).

We received issues from our customers stating that the application's UI was not showing. After some investigation we discovered that in the Windows Event Viewer there were several crash reports indicating that our main application (GenieTimeline.exe) has crashed and the faulting module was (WRusr.dll). 

Further investigation revealed that the dll is part of an Anti-Virus software called WebRoot and when debugging our application we discovered that XTPSkinFramework was crashing..

The crash occurs in "XTPSkinManagerApiHook.cpp" on line 517 ::VirtualProtect(mbi.BaseAddress, mbi.RegionSize, mbi.Protect, &dwOldProtect);

We think that WebRoot is using CodeJock's SkinFramework and in some way its conflicting with our product. calling XTPSkinManager()->ExcludeModule(_T("WRusr.dll")); does solve the problem, however, we aren't sure if there are other DLL's that might cause the same problem.

Currently this is the code we are using to initialize and load our skin:

DWORD dwOptions = XTPSkinManager()->GetApplyOptions();
dwOptions &=~xtpSkinApplyMenus;
dwOptions &=~xtpSkinApplyMetrics;
XTPSkinManager()->ExcludeModule(_T("WRusr.dll")); <-- Added to resolve the issue temporarily 
XTPSkinManager()->SetApplyOptions(dwOptions);
XTPSkinManager()->SetAutoApplyNewWindows(FALSE);
XTPSkinManager()->LoadSkin(stStylePath, _T("GenieBlackNoTitle.ini")); <-- This is where its crashing
XTPSkinManager()->SetAutoApplyNewWindows(TRUE);