Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > Visual C++ MFC > Skin Framework
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - LoadSkin causes ASSERT on exit in another DLL
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

LoadSkin causes ASSERT on exit in another DLL

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
g_j_a_i_n View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 27 August 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 86
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote g_j_a_i_n Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: LoadSkin causes ASSERT on exit in another DLL
    Posted: 05 March 2012 at 5:31am

Hello,

I have a MFC project which is dependent on another dll.

In the exe I call LoadSkin. Everything works fine.

But when I exit, it ASSERTS inside the dll code.

BOOL WINAPI RawDllMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, DWORD dwReason, LPVOID)
{
    hInstance;
    if (dwReason == DLL_PROCESS_ATTACH)
    {
#ifdef _AFXDLL
        // make sure we have enough memory to attempt to start (8kb)
        void* pMinHeap = LocalAlloc(NONZEROLPTR, 0x2000);
        if (pMinHeap == NULL)
            return FALSE;   // fail if memory alloc fails
        LocalFree(pMinHeap);

        // set module state before initialization
        _AFX_THREAD_STATE* pState = AfxGetThreadState();
        pState->m_pPrevModuleState = AfxSetModuleState(&afxModuleState);
    }
    else if (dwReason == DLL_PROCESS_DETACH && !__mixedModuleStartup)
    {
        // restore module state after cleanup
        _AFX_THREAD_STATE* pState = AfxGetThreadState();
Here >>        VERIFY(AfxSetModuleState(pState->m_pPrevModuleState) ==  &afxModuleState);
        DEBUG_ONLY(pState->m_pPrevModuleState = NULL);

#endif //_AFXDLL
    }
    return TRUE;
}

When I don't use SkinFramework (comment LoadSkin line), this ASSERT does not happen.

Please help.

Regards,
Gautam Jain
Back to Top
tim00005 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 July 2013
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tim00005 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 July 2013 at 12:29pm
Hi is there any update to this? I am just about to start debugging the same problem. Code Jock version 16.2.0. VS 2012.

Cheers,

Tim.

Back to Top
mgampi View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 July 2003
Status: Offline
Points: 1198
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mgampi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 July 2013 at 2:02am
Hi;

Try this in your ExitInstance() function:

int CMyCoreApp::ExitInstance() {
    XTPSkinManager()->LoadSkin(L"", L"");
    return CWinApp::ExitInstance();
}

I've several DLLs used in my app and skinning too. But in my case the app closes without an assert.
Martin

Product: Xtreme Toolkit v 19.0.0, new Projects v 19.1.0
Platform: Windows 10 v 1909 (64bit)
Language: VC++ 2017
Back to Top
tim00005 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 July 2013
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tim00005 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 July 2013 at 3:58am
Hi, thanks for the help.

I am not sure what happened but the assert no longer happens and the app closes correctly. I did change a number of project settings for different reasons so I guess it could be project settings related.

If it reappears I will try your suggestion. Hopefully I won't have to.

Tim.
Back to Top
mgampi View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 July 2003
Status: Offline
Points: 1198
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mgampi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 July 2013 at 3:20pm
Hi,
Would be fine if you could tell us more about your changed project settings.
Martin

Product: Xtreme Toolkit v 19.0.0, new Projects v 19.1.0
Platform: Windows 10 v 1909 (64bit)
Language: VC++ 2017
Back to Top
tim00005 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 July 2013
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tim00005 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 August 2013 at 11:04am
Sorry for the delay getting back on this - I have been away.

It was not project settings in the end, I noticed I was building in release so was not getting the assertion - duh. 

However i have found a solution: 

I was subclassing the m_hWndMDIClient in CMainFrame::CreateClient. If I call UnsubclassWindow in CMainFrame::OnDestroy then the problem goes away. 




Back to Top
tim00005 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 July 2013
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tim00005 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 August 2013 at 11:07am
Scrap that - too quick on the post. Just tried again and it is still here. I give up:)
Back to Top
Kalyani View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 November 2013
Location: Pune
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kalyani Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 January 2014 at 12:12am
Hi,

I am facing the same problem of crash in:
 it ASSERTS inside the dll code.

BOOL WINAPI RawDllMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, DWORD dwReason, LPVOID)
{
    hInstance;
    if (dwReason == DLL_PROCESS_ATTACH)
    {
#ifdef _AFXDLL
        // make sure we have enough memory to attempt to start (8kb)
        void* pMinHeap = LocalAlloc(NONZEROLPTR, 0x2000);
        if (pMinHeap == NULL)
            return FALSE;   // fail if memory alloc fails
        LocalFree(pMinHeap);

        // set module state before initialization
        _AFX_THREAD_STATE* pState = AfxGetThreadState();
        pState->m_pPrevModuleState = AfxSetModuleState(&afxModuleState);
    }
    else if (dwReason == DLL_PROCESS_DETACH && !__mixedModuleStartup)
    {
        // restore module state after cleanup
        _AFX_THREAD_STATE* pState = AfxGetThreadState();
Here >>        VERIFY(AfxSetModuleState(pState->m_pPrevModuleState) ==  &afxModuleState);
        DEBUG_ONLY(pState->m_pPrevModuleState = NULL);

#endif //_AFXDLL
    }
    return TRUE;
}

I am not sure of the reason, I commented the loadskin code as suggested here, but it still crashes.
It happens only in Debug mode of my application.
PS: codejock v16.2.6 and Visual Studio 2010, Windows 7 64bit

Request you to please help me wth the same.

Regards,
Kalyani
Back to Top
Kalyani View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 November 2013
Location: Pune
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kalyani Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 January 2014 at 1:12am
Hi,

Any update on above problem?

Regards,
Kalyani
Back to Top
rdhd View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 August 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 867
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rdhd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 July 2014 at 4:26pm
Did anyone solve this?

It appears the module state has not been correctly managed.

Would adding the AFX_MANAGE_SATE macro in your routine that loads the skin help?

Also, with side by side MFC modules, I have found that one can mess up module states if an access violation or some other exception occurs and the module state switching that should occur doesn't happen. But usually I get an invalid context activation exception eventually when it does. Of course you are shutting down (?) and that might not happen. I use the debugger and turn on first chance exception handling (win32, in particular access violations but usually just all) and then run my workflow and see if I am trapping some exception we have been ignoring, say with catch(...).
Back to Top
mcmastl View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 14 April 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 79
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mcmastl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2015 at 2:06pm
Thank you all for bringing this to our attention, we have informed our development team and we will be looking into the issue.  If the matter has been resolved please let us know.  
Luke McMasters, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.154 seconds.