Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > ActiveX COM > General Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Read this if you use ADO and W7 SP1 !
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Read this if you use ADO and W7 SP1 !

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Lodep59 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 03 April 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 202
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lodep59 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Read this if you use ADO and W7 SP1 !
    Posted: 02 March 2011 at 5:28am
Hello,

Just a little message about a big problem introduced by Microsoft and it's W7 SP1.
If you use ADO (msado28.tlb for example) in your references DON'T UPGRADE to the SP1 of W7.

You won't notice any problem until you compile your exe and run it on a machine without W7 SP1 (W7 RTM, XP, Vista...). On this machine all your calls to ADO will fail !

I've spend a full day to discover the source of this problem. It's incredible, Microsoft have changed the Interfaces Id in msadoXX.tlb !

For more information about this :

Please notice that, if you don't install the W7 SP1 your program will work on all systems (including W7 SP1).

Feel free to add messages to the forum post above on the Microsoft site if you think it can help.

Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) last version
Platform: Windows 7 Ultimate
Language: VB6 SP6 (FR)
Back to Top
ampcom View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 20 September 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 38
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ampcom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 March 2011 at 1:55pm
Thanks for the update
 
I have un-installed the SP1, spent hours trying to work through the problem.
 
What is Microsoft thinking of!!
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.1
Platform: Windows 7 (64 Bit) Ultimate
Language: Visual Basic 6.0
Back to Top
McKloony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 January 2007
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 332
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McKloony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2011 at 11:10am
It seems that this is realy a big problem for all applications that uses ADO and not only VB6 applications. I re compiled my app under Windows XP (VMWare) and do not have this problem. But i read, that microsoft updates all Windows versions: (of example Windows XP SP3)
 
 
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) 16.2.5

Platform: XP / Windows 7

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6
Back to Top
immoassist View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 19 June 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote immoassist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2011 at 11:36am
I have exactly the same problem.
And since a few months, I compile all my VB6 apps in a VMWare XP (with no Service Pack)
No problems so.
But annoying
Come and try our application :
http://www.immoassist.com
Back to Top
hjmueller View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 March 2008
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hjmueller Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 May 2011 at 6:34am
An alternative is to copy the pre-sp1 msado28.tlb and/or msado27.tlb (date 16-10-2010) to
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\System\ado
This fixes the Problem Big smile
Back to Top
Xander75 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 26 April 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 348
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xander75 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2012 at 4:37pm
Hi,

Thought I'd say that this is no longer an issue and hasn't been for quite sometime! Microsoft released a backwards compatibility version of the msado28.tlb that resolves this. I have both a Windows XP machine and a Windows 7 SP1 and can confirm since using this file I've had no more issues.

Just thought I'd say as there's been no update on this post and it should be marked as resolved.
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) v15.3.1
Platform: Windows 7 64-bit (SP1) Professional Edition
Languages: C#.Net using Visual Studio 2012 & Visual Basic 6.0 (SP6)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.