Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > ActiveX COM > Suite Pro
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ListBox Text property error (bug?)
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ListBox Text property error (bug?)

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
gibra View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 31 October 2008
Location: Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 288
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gibra Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ListBox Text property error (bug?)
    Posted: 14 March 2010 at 3:02pm
Why the Text property of ListBox is read-only?
 
I don't understand because Description say that we can Gets or sets, while Property Type say Read-only
The help file report:

Description

Gets or sets the text associated with this control.

Property type

Read-only property

 
This property should be read and write, for compatibility with VB.ListBox control.
Many times need to select a ListBox item we use the Text property and is a sample way to select the item, without know the Index.
 
I.e., if we don't know the Index property, the Codejock ListBox force us to do extra work to search for all items to compare Text with us string, then set item using ListIndex.
So, if anyone would to migrate from VB.ListBox to XtremeSuiteControls.ListBox, must re-code all reading of Text property!
 
Using VB.ListBox:
List1.Text = "MyItem"   <--- this not work XtremeSuiteControls.ListBox
 
Using Codejock.ListBox:
Dim idx as Long
For idx = 0 to List1.ListCount -1
    If List1.List(idx) = "MyItem" Then
        List1.ListIndex = idx
    End If
Next idx
 
I think to be inadvertence...
 
I hope you plain to remove this limitation.
 
gibra
CJ SuiteControl v: 13.x to 19.x
Windows 10 64bit
VS2019 - VB6.0 SP6
<a href="http://nuke.vbcorner.net/Home/tabid/36/language/en-US/Default.aspx" rel="nofollow">VS/VB 6.0 Installer v6.8
Back to Top
Baldur View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 22 November 2006
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 244
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldur Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 March 2010 at 11:22am
You can use simply use FindItem-Method.
Back to Top
gibra View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 31 October 2008
Location: Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 288
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gibra Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 March 2010 at 4:06pm
Thank you for reply.
 
OK, I know this, but the problem is different.
 
I explain: Codejock Controls is an 'enhanced replacement' for intrinsec VB controls (at least).
So, CJ.ListBox should be 100% compatible with VB.ListBox control. Instead isn't!
 
Moreover, this problem involve many other Codejock Controls.
 
When I want to migrate a VB project which use intrinsic VB controls, I would that the old VB control Properties and Methods should be supported in CJ Controls.
Instead I forced to rewrite a lot of code to solve the problems created by SuitePro because:
 
Many native Properties and Methods of VB controls not longer work in SuitePro.
 
Methods not supported. Example:
ListBox and ComboBox doesn't allow to add Item a design time.
ListView doesn't allow to create ColumnHeaders a design time.
 
Properties not supported. Example:
MouseIcon and MousePointer is missing on almost all of controls.
 
This is only a example, but there are many other methods and properties not supported by SuitePro.
Sincerely, after enthusiastic purchasing, I still discover day by day (with my disappointment) a lot of limitations in Codejock SuitePro ActiveX.
 
I don't know if I will renew my subscription next year...
 
gibra
CJ SuiteControl v: 13.x to 19.x
Windows 10 64bit
VS2019 - VB6.0 SP6
<a href="http://nuke.vbcorner.net/Home/tabid/36/language/en-US/Default.aspx" rel="nofollow">VS/VB 6.0 Installer v6.8
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 March 2010 at 8:10am
Hello,
 
Thanks, we added "set" implementation for Text property.
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.