Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > ActiveX COM > Property Grid
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Help Panel scrolling
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Help Panel scrolling

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Keith-Q View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 April 2009
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Keith-Q Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help Panel scrolling
    Posted: 07 April 2009 at 11:43am

I enabled the help panel at the bottom of the grid. For some of the item in the gird, there help information is logn so that the help panel could show only part of it. How can I add a vertical scroller in the help panel?

Keith
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2009 at 1:00am

Hi,

If you have 13.0 release you can use Markup feature to show scrollbars:
 
Private Sub Form_Load()
PropertyGrid1.EnableMarkup = True
Dim Category As PropertyGridItem
Set Category = PropertyGrid1.AddCategory("Category")
Category.Description = "<ScrollViewer><TextBlock TextWrapping='Wrap'>ipsen shmipsen ipsen shmipsen ipsen shmipsen ipsen shmipsen ipsen shmipsen ipsen shmipsen</TextBlock></ScrollViewer>"
End Sub
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2009 at 9:01am
Hi Oleg,
 
The idea is great, so I had to try it
But how can I make the scrollbar actually do something. Scrollbar isn't responding on mouse clicks or what so ever.
 
Thanks in advance
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2009 at 10:21am

Hi,

Doesn't work with 13.0 release and exactly same code ???
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Keith-Q View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 April 2009
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Keith-Q Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2009 at 1:17pm
I tried it with Codejock.PropertyGrid.ActiveX.v13.0. I can see the scrollbar. However the scrollbar is grey'ed-out, cannot be accessed.
Keith
Back to Top
Keith-Q View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 April 2009
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Keith-Q Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2009 at 1:26pm
Ahha, The test text is not long enough in my case. When I add a lot of more words, it works!!
Thanks a lot.
Keith
Back to Top
jpbro View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 January 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 1354
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jpbro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2009 at 2:00pm
I just tested it here with 13.0 and it seems to work. I had to add a lot more "ipsen shmipsen" though, because there weren't enough to activate the scrollbar. Maybe that was the problem Aaron?
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6

Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2009 at 5:47am
Originally posted by oleg oleg wrote:

Hi,

Doesn't work with 13.0 release and exactly same code ???
 
 
Hi Oleg,
 
I copied your code and added extra "ipsen shmipsen" (about 30 times) and it really doesn't work
It shows the scrollbar, scrollbar (thumb) does resize when resizing helpsection height but it doesn't react on mouse (click / mouseover)
 
Can I check something else?
 
Thanks
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2009 at 8:24am
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2009 at 8:53am
Hi Oleg,
 
You wouldn't believe it when I say it didn't work because in IDE I did set .EnableMarkUp = True and when setting .EnableMarkup = True in code it will behave like I already mentioned
 
Really!!! Try it yourself
 
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 April 2009 at 1:56am
Hi,
 
Yes, its can be true. If EnableMarkup set before window is created - Markup will not get window handle to react to events. It was resaon I asked to try exactly same code :):)
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 April 2009 at 4:56am
Originally posted by oleg oleg wrote:

Hi,
 
Yes, its can be true. If EnableMarkup set before window is created - Markup will not get window handle to react to events. It was resaon I asked to try exactly same code :):)
 
Hi Oleg,
 
So you suggest better to set EnableMarkup = True in code? I also noticed this with ReportControl, before doing anything (adding columns, adding records etc etc) I had to set EnableMarkup = True otherwise it didn't work...
 
Thanks
 
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2009 at 2:42am
Hi,
 
to make it work now its only one way :(
Its fixed for next release.
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 April 2009 at 10:59am
Hi,
 
Is there a way to position scrollbar of ScrollViewer a few pixels to the right? It's not aligned like I want to, see uploaded image:
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thanks a lot
 
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
jpbro View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 January 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 1354
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jpbro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 April 2009 at 11:09am
Try putting a negative right margin in your ScrollViewer:


<ScrollViewer Margin='0,0,-2,0'>.....REST OF MARKUP....</ScrollViewer>


You might have to adjust the -2 to another number...
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 16.2.6
Platform: Windows XP - SP3

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6

Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 April 2009 at 11:17am
Originally posted by jpbro jpbro wrote:

Try putting a negative right margin in your ScrollViewer:


<ScrollViewer Margin='0,0,-2,0'>.....REST OF MARKUP....</ScrollViewer>


You might have to adjust the -2 to another number...
 
Hi Jason,
 
It's working  I had to use -3 to align scrollbar same as right side of propertygrid scrollbar. ScrollViewer scrollbar width is just one pixel smaller but who will notice that...  (I did notice it, but I don't want to complain all the time )
 
Thanks a lot
 
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
dileeptm View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 15 October 2009
Location: India
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dileeptm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2009 at 7:06am

i was in search for such an option in Help Panel.. Thanks for the help... but i need some more information,

can any one help me. ? now the scroll bar is visible all the time. can we do somthing to show scroll bar only if it is needed. For eg, consider the case of grid resizing, we should not show Disabled scrollbar when the help panel size is big, instead of that we can hide the scroll bar.
 
Any existing way is there to meet my requirement..? kindly help me...
Back to Top
dileeptm View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 15 October 2009
Location: India
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dileeptm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2009 at 9:18am
yaa i got it...
 
just give like this

<ScrollViewer VerticalScrollBarVisibility='Auto' Margin='0,0,-3,0'>

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.188 seconds.