Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > ActiveX COM > Controls
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Transparent frame
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Transparent frame

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Source View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 103
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Source Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Transparent frame
    Posted: 10 July 2008 at 7:48am

SOLVED: How to put a frame transparent?

Already used transparent property; nothing happens - stays with the background color.

I do not want to use the same color as the form background one, because the form uses a gradient!
 
Regards.
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 13.1.0
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 3
Language: Visual Basic 6.0
Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2187
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 July 2008 at 1:49pm
Hi,
 
Not possible, Carlos.
 
The only (real) transparent controls are: PopupControl and Label the rest uses background color of container.
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
Source View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 103
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Source Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 July 2008 at 2:43pm

Hummmm... so the transparent property is more a "to be implemented property"; sorry CJ guys.
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 13.1.0
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 3
Language: Visual Basic 6.0
Back to Top
mlatona View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 April 2005
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 124
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mlatona Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 July 2008 at 7:44am
Hi,
 
I use the freeware controls (only the frame) from Innovasys. http://www.innovasys.com/download/eval.aspx?productname=freeware%20activex%20controls
 
This frame is really transparent.
 
Regards
Marco
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 13.2.1
Platform: Windows XP
Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6
Back to Top
Source View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 103
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Source Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 July 2008 at 1:00pm
Thanks. Works just fine.

How about the transparent property CJ guys?
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 13.1.0
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 3
Language: Visual Basic 6.0
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 July 2008 at 5:56am
Hi,
Can you attach sample that shows how to make Innovasys groupbox transparent for gradient background - we will add same. Now I can't make it transparent :-(
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
ijwelch View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 262
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ijwelch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 July 2008 at 11:15pm
Originally posted by oleg oleg wrote:

Hi,
Can you attach sample that shows how to make Innovasys groupbox transparent for gradient background - we will add same. Now I can't make it transparent :-(


Attached.
uploads/20080716_231514_Test.zip

Control is truly transparent at runtime (not design time). See image below.


Back to Top
Stilki View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 27 May 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stilki Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 July 2008 at 1:14am
If you want to use the CJ controls Transparent property, use the CJ control TabControlPage as the container for the control(s).
This works.
Back to Top
ijwelch View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 262
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ijwelch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 July 2008 at 10:58pm
Any news?
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 July 2008 at 2:09am

Hi,

We added Picture Property for TabPage to allow set custom background:
 
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Source View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 103
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Source Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 July 2008 at 4:55am

... and the CHAMPION is:

Codejock.

CJ Controls rocks.

Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 13.1.0
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 3
Language: Visual Basic 6.0
Back to Top
shipwreck View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 18 April 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 308
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shipwreck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 August 2008 at 4:50am
This is great I must say, Been waiting for this for a while, But.. Isn't this a bit of what-youd-say "Nigger rigging"? (No offence to anyone!) :)
Product: Xtreme Suite Pro (Active-X), Version 15.3.1

Platform: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (64Bit) & Windows XP Mode SP3 (32Bit)

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6
Back to Top
ijwelch View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 June 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 262
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ijwelch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 August 2008 at 10:04pm
Maybe.

I was thinking there's some overlap here with the resizer control and the need for a more advanced control container/picturebox.

Wouldn't it make sense to have a single container control with optional scrollbars/resizing/borders (a la resizer) plus theming/background picture/jerry-rigged transparency (a la tabcontrolpage) and call it XtremeContainer?

Back to Top
shipwreck View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 18 April 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 308
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shipwreck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 August 2008 at 12:18am
Yeah, that would make it a lot easier, but it would be less they could charge us for. :p
Product: Xtreme Suite Pro (Active-X), Version 15.3.1

Platform: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (64Bit) & Windows XP Mode SP3 (32Bit)

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6
Back to Top
nenkalo View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 02 August 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 36
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nenkalo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 August 2008 at 3:19pm
Originally posted by oleg oleg wrote:

Hi,

We added Picture Property for TabPage to allow set custom background:
 


tabpage has picture property now ?
if its possible plz upload this example`s source
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 12.0.1
Platform: Windows XP (32bit)
Language: Visual Basic 6.0
Back to Top
garyb View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 November 2012
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote garyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 November 2012 at 11:32am
SmileSimple solution  -  Works with VB6 / Win7
You can create graphics using Paint.  Just make the transparent section in the color
you chose to be transparent.  In this example I am using color (&H000001&)
Any pixels of this color (almost black) will be transparent.
 (note: you can use any color to be transparent)
  
   ' Copy this code to your VB6 form
   ' ================================
   Declare Function GetWindowLong& Lib "user32" Alias "GetWindowLongA" ( _
      ByVal hwnd&, ByVal nIndex&)
   Declare Function SetWindowLong& Lib "user32" Alias "SetWindowLongA" ( _
      ByVal hwnd&, ByVal nIndex&, ByVal dwNewLong&)
   Declare Function SetLayeredWindowAttributes& Lib "user32" ( _
      ByVal hwnd&, ByVal crKey&, ByVal bAlpha As Byte, ByVal dwFlags&)
   Public Const GwlStyle& = (-16)
   Public Const GwlExStyle& = (-20)
   Public Const WsExLayered& = &H80000
   Public Const LwaColorKey& = &H1
   Public Const LwaAlphaA& = &H2
 
   ' ================================  
  Sub Form_Load()
      SetWindowLong Me.hwnd, GWL_EXSTYLE, GetWindowLong(Me.hwnd, GWL_EXSTYLE) Or WS_EX_LAYERED
      SetLayeredWindowAttributes Me.hwnd,  &H000001&, 0&, LWA_COLORKEY
      Me.BackColor = &H000001&  ' Make background transparent
  End Sub
   ' ================================

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.