Codejock Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Codejock Products > ActiveX COM > Property Grid
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ValueChanged Event
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ValueChanged Event

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
McKloony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 January 2007
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 340
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McKloony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ValueChanged Event
    Posted: 08 May 2008 at 6:53am
Is it possible to fire the ValueChanged Event also when the user is typing into a PropertyItem Cell? A lot of my user doesn't press the RETURN- or TAB Key.
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) 16.2.5

Platform: XP / Windows 7

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 2008 at 9:33am
Hi,
ValueChanged will be fired even if user don't press RETURN- or TAB  
 
when item lost focus.
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
McKloony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 January 2007
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 340
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McKloony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 2008 at 10:30am

But if you make a test, to view the Value of the Item, the old Value is set. Only if you press ENTER or RETURN or TAB, the new Value ist set to the Item.

Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) 16.2.5

Platform: XP / Windows 7

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 2008 at 11:49am
Hello,
 
Do you see same with our sample ? With all items ?
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 2008 at 3:49pm
Originally posted by McKloony McKloony wrote:

But if you make a test, to view the Value of the Item, the old Value is set. Only if you press ENTER or RETURN or TAB, the new Value ist set to the Item.

 
The order of events is:
 
press ENTER, TAB or looses focus >
 
1.      wndPropertyGrid_AfterEdit > Cancel = false > 2a. Cancel = True > 2b.
2a.    wndPropertyGrid_ValueChanged
2b.    wndPropertyGrid_LostFocus
 
Oleg:
when will this event fire?
 
Private Sub wndPropertyGrid_CancelEdit(ByVal Item As XtremePropertyGrid.IPropertyGridItem)
    MsgBox "I never seen this event fire before"
End Sub
 
Then there are events that we would like to see fired in order to have what you want, Marcus
 
Private Sub wndPropertyGrid_KeyDown(KeyCode As Integer, Shift As Integer)
    Msgbox "I never fire"
    'I would like to:  
    Call wndPropertyGrid_ValueChanged(currentEditingPropItem) 
End Sub
 
Private Sub wndPropertyGrid_KeyUp(KeyCode As Integer, Shift As Integer)
    Msgbox "I also never fire"
    'I would like to:  
    Call wndPropertyGrid_ValueChanged(currentEditingPropItem) 
End Sub
 
Please give us some advice, Oleg
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2008 at 1:29am
Hi,
CancelEdi fires if user press Escape to restore what he changed.
 
 
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2008 at 3:15am
Hi,
 
Correct again Oleg , you are really awake. But now I am too, yesterday I had a mini nervous breakdown hehehe
 
But what about the other events? Are there plans to implement these ?(well they are implemented but won't fire). When these events would fire most of us will do there own checking if a certain char is entered, we don't need RegEx  (just kidding).
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2008 at 4:50am
Hi,
 
What other events? AfterEdit or ValueChanged don't work for you ?
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
Aaron View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2192
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2008 at 6:19am
Hi,
 
These:
 
Private Sub wndPropertyGrid_KeyDown(KeyCode As Integer, Shift As Integer)
    Msgbox "I never fire"
    'I would like to:  
    Call wndPropertyGrid_ValueChanged(currentEditingPropItem) 
End Sub
 
Private Sub wndPropertyGrid_KeyUp(KeyCode As Integer, Shift As Integer)
    Msgbox "I also never fire"
    'I would like to:  
    Call wndPropertyGrid_ValueChanged(currentEditingPropItem) 
End Sub
 
 
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) version 15.0.2
Platform: Windows XP (32bit) - SP 2
Language: Visual Basic 6.0

Zero replies is not an option....
Back to Top
McKloony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 January 2007
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 340
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McKloony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2008 at 10:09am
uploads/20080509_100728_CodeJock_Proper.zip
 
I posted a verry small sample, that shows, that the ValueChange event will not fired, if the focus is lost. Just type in some data (don't press ENTER or TAB) and than click onto the button!
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) 16.2.5

Platform: XP / Windows 7

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2008 at 4:40am

Hi,

This project works for me. I entered string in first item, clicked button and see changed text in output.
 
Also add
 
Private Sub prpGrid1_ValueChanged(ByVal Item As XtremePropertyGrid.IPropertyGridItem)
    Debug.Print "prpGrid1_ValueChanged"
End Sub
and you will see Output after you click button.
 
 
What OS  do you have ?
Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
McKloony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 January 2007
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 340
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McKloony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2008 at 6:26am
uploads/20080511_062430_CodeJock_Proper.zip
 
OK, I changed the sample. Now i placed a command bar with a save button. Now the PropertyGrid doesn't lose the focus.
Product: Xtreme SuitePro (ActiveX) 16.2.5

Platform: XP / Windows 7

Language: Visual Basic 6.0 SP6
Back to Top
Oleg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11234
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oleg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2008 at 10:33am

Hi,

Its different situation. Pressing Control in toolbar don't grab focus. You can grab it manually :

Me.SetFocus

Oleg, Support Team
CODEJOCK SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.